

THE STATES assembled on Monday 14th November 2011, at 1.00 p.m. under the Presidency of the Bailiff, Michael Cameron St. John Birt Esquire.

His Excellency the Lieutenant Governor, General Sir John McColl, K.C.B., C.B.E., D.S.O. was present.

All members	were present a	it ron can with	i the exception	OI —	

Connétable Leonard Norman of St. Clement – excused attendance (arrived in the Chamber at 1.57 p.m.)

Prayers

New members - welcome

The Bailiff welcomed the newly-elected members of the States to the Assembly.

Chief Minister designate - nominations and selection

THE STATES noted that, in accordance with the provisions of Standing Order 115(1), two nominations had been received by the Greffier of the States for the office of Chief Minister designate as follows –

Senator Sir Philip Martin Bailhache, nominated by –

Senator Alan John Henry Maclean
Senator Lyndon John Farnham
The Connétable of St. Helier
The Connétable of Trinity
The Connétable of Grouville
Deputy Sean Seamus Patrick Augustine Power of St. Brelade
Deputy Susan Jane Pinel of St. Clement
The Deputy of St. Martin

Senator Ian Joseph Gorst, nominated by –

Senator Paul Francis Routier
Senator Bryan Ian Le Marquand
Senator Francis du Heaume Le Gresley
The Connétable of St. Mary
The Connétable of St. Lawrence
Deputy Andrew Kenneth Francis Green of St. Helier

761 Price code: A

STATES MINUTES 14th November 2011

In accordance with the provisions set out in Standing Order 116, the Bailiff invited the Greffier of the States to read out the nominations, following which lots were drawn to determine the order in which the candidates would speak for a period up to 10 minutes and be questioned thereafter for a period of up to 40 minutes by elected members; Senator Ian Joseph Gorst was drawn first and Senator Sir Philip Martin Bailhache was drawn second. Each candidate withdrew from the Chamber while the other spoke and answered questions during the periods allotted.

THE STATES, having proceeded to an open ballot in accordance with Standing Order 116, were informed of the results by the Bailiff as follows –

Senator Ian Joseph Gorst 27 Senator Sir Philip Martin Bailhache 24

Members present voted as follows –

MEMBERS VOTING FOR SENATOR BAILHACHE (24 VOTES)

Senator P.F.C. Ozouf

Senator A. Breckon

Senator A.J.H. Maclean

Senator L.J. Farnham

Senator P.M. Bailhache

The Connétable of St. Helier

The Connétable of Trinity

The Connétable of Grouville

The Connétable of St. Clement

The Connétable of St. Peter

The Connétable of St. John

The Connétable of St. Ouen

The Connétable of St. Saviour

The Deputy of Grouville

Deputy of St. Brelade

Deputy of St. Lawrence

The Deputy of St. John

Deputy J.P.G. Baker of St. Helier

Deputy J.H. Young of St. Brelade

Deputy S.J. Pinel of St. Clement

The Deputy of St. Mary

The Deputy of St. Martin

Deputy R.G. Bryans of St. Helier

The Deputy of St. Peter

MEMBERS VOTING FOR SENATOR GORST (27 VOTES)

Senator P.F. Routier

Senator S.C. Ferguson

Senator B.I. Le Marquand

Senator F. du H. Le Gresley

Senator I.J. Gorst

The Connétable of St. Lawrence

The Connétable of St. Mary

The Connétable of St. Brelade

STATES MINUTES 14th November 2011

The Connétable of St. Martin

Deputy R.C. Duhamel of St. Saviour

Deputy R.G. Le Hérissier of St. Saviour

Deputy J.A. Martin of St. Helier

Deputy G.P. Southern of St. Helier

The Deputy of St. Ouen

Deputy J.A. Hilton of St. Helier

Deputy J.A.N. Le Fondré of St. Lawrence

The Deputy of Trinity

Deputy S. Pitman of St. Helier

Deputy K.C. Lewis of St. Saviour

Deputy M. Tadier of St. Brelade

Deputy T.M. Pitman of St. Helier

Deputy T.A. Vallois of St. Saviour

Deputy M.R. Higgins of St. Helier

Deputy A.K.F. Green of St. Helier

Deputy J.M. Maçon of St. Saviour

Deputy G.C.L. Baudains of St. Clement

Deputy R.J. Rondel of St. Helier

The Bailiff accordingly declared that Senator Ian Joseph Gorst had been duly elected as the Chief Minister designate.

THE STATES rose at 3.17 p.m.

M.N. DE LA HAYE

Greffier of the States